Staying up-to-date

Certification is a mark of excellence. It demonstrates that the certified individual has the knowledge to ensure the quality of products and services. Certification is an investment in your career and in the future of your employer.

You made the effort to pass the certification exam in the first place – now maintain it by being recertified with ASQ. Maintaining your certification secures the investment you’ve already made in your career.

Recertification requirements were modified to begin 2017. Review changes here.

Two ways to recertify

1 RECERTIFICATION JOURNAL:  Journals are now maintained and submitted online through the ASQ Website in your personal account.  For more information on re-certifications, ASQ provides more information here.

If you are an Associate Member or live outside North America, submit your completed form, documentation and payment to:

Attn: Recertification Coordinator
P.O. Box 3005
Milwaukee, WI 53201-3005


2 EXAMINATION: Actually sit for the exam. This is required if your certification has expired, meaning it is beyond the six-month grace period. For a listing of exam dates and deadlines, click here.

ASQ requires that you recertify the following certifications every three years to ensure that you maintain the same level of knowledge demonstrated in your first exam.

  • Medial Device Auditor
  • Calibration Technician
  • HACCP Auditor
  • Manager of Quality/Organizational Excellence
  • Master Black Belt
  • Pharmaceutical GMP Professional
  • Quality Auditor
  • Quality Engineer
  • Reliability Engineer
  • Software Quality Engineer
  • Six Sigma Black Belt
  • ASQ/DON Lean Six Sigma Black Belt

Note: Quality Inspector, Quality Improvement Associate, Quality Process Analyst, Quality Technician and Six Sigma Green Belt are lifetime certifications. They have no recertification requirements.

Full recertification details including timelines, fees and qualifying activities can be found here.